Cameron Smith wins 2017 Dally M Medal

NRL 2020 MAIN 1000px
Embed from Getty Images

Cameron Smith has unsurprisingly claimed the 2017 Dally M Medal as the NRL player of the year.

Check out below our coverage of the night including all the award winners and the Team of the Year.

LIVE action

All times AEST

It all kicks off at 8:30pm!

8:30pm - Red Carpet DONE. Let's get moving - we open with Briggs' "Here" - the FOX League theme song.

8:35pm - Briggs is done - as are three awards. The Top Point Scorer, Try Scorer and NYC Player of the Year were all awarded pre-broadcast. Check out the awards list below.

8:40pm - Yvonne Sampson's introduction gives way to Mal Meninga, offering a stirring speech on our game.

8:45pm - Mal introduces Johnathan Thurston and the Captain of the Year is awarded.

8:50pm - JT is joined by Jess Yates as the leaderboard is recapped and we start vote counting from Rounds 15 to 19.

8:55pm - Rookie of the Year up next!

9:00pm - Time for the Tackle and Try of the Year!

9:05pm - Todd Greenberg is on stage for his annual CEO speech. Get your pillow ready.

9:11pm - Grand Final opponents Cameron Smith and Gavin Cooper join Yvonne Sampson at the podium for a chat.

9:15pm - Coach of the Year next!

9:18pm - Rothfield is up to present the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment award.

9:20pm - Back to the count with Yates and JT - Rounds 20 to 22 to be covered next.

9:25pm - Female Player of the Year up now.

9:45pm - A stunning tribute from Jess Mauboy to those who have passed away in the last twelve months, with piano-backed version of 80's rugby league anthem Simply the Best.

9:49pm - Team of the Year!

10:00pm - Cameron Smith's lead after 24 rounds is unassailable - he is crowned Dally M Player of the Year!

Final Leaderboard


2017 Dally M NRL Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Storm)

Peter Moore Award (Rookie of the Year): Nick Cotric (Raiders)
Nominated: Jayden Brailey (Sharks), Dylan Edwards (Panthers), Brock Lamb (Knights)

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Storm)
Nominated: Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles), Paul Gallen (Sharks), Tim Mannah (Eels)

Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Storm)
Nominated: Trent Barrett (Sea Eagles), Brad Arthur (Eels), Trent Robinson (Roosters)

Provan Summons Medal (People's Choice): Clint Gutherson (Eels)
Nominated: Nathan Cleary (Panthers), Nathan Ross (Knights), Michael Morgan (Cowboys)

Peter Frilingos Memorial Award (Headline Moment): Mitchell Pearce (Roosters)
Match-winning field goal against the Dragons, ANZAC Day match

Female Player of the Year: Simaima Taufa (Jillaroos)
Nominated: Kezie Apps (Jillaroos), Simone Smith (Jillaroos), Brittany Breayley (Jillaroos)

Holden Cup (Under 20's) Player of the Year: Jake Clifford (Cowboys)

Top Pointscorer: Nathan Cleary (Panthers)

Top Tryscorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Storm)

Tackle of the Year (public vote): Nathan Brown (Eels) on Roosters' Dylan Napa 

Try of the Year (public vote): Kyle Feldt (Cowboys) v Panthers

Team of the Year

Fullback: Billy Slater (Storm)

Winger: Jordan Rapana (Raiders)

Centre: Dylan Walker (Sea Eagles)

Five-Eighth: Gareth Widdop (Dragons)

Halfback: Michael Morgan (Cowboys)

Prop: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Hooker: Cameron Smith (Storm)

Second Row: Matt Gillett (Broncos)

Lock: Paul Gallen (Sharks)

Interchange: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Panthers)