2021 Rugby League World Cup Draw

Embed from Getty Images

The Duke of Sussex, Prince Harry, was on hand to conduct the draw for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup at 12pm GMT today - Thursday 16 January 2020 - at Buckingham Palace.

#RLWC2021 is set to take place across England from 23 October to 27 November 2021, following the conclusion of the NRL and Super League seasons.

16 nations have qualified for the 2021 edition of the Cup, with qualifying wrapping up in November where four European clubs (Scotland, Ireland, Italy and newcomers Greece) joined the fold along with Cook Islands, who ousted the United States and South Africa for the final spot in next year's tournament.

The qualified nations are, according to their Seeds and Pots:


  • England (hosts)
  • Australia (reigning champions)
  • New Zealand
  • Tonga

Pot 1

  • Fiji
  • Lebanon
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa

Pot 2

  • France
  • Scotland
  • Jamaica
  • Wales

Pot 3

  • Cook Islands
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Italy

Eighteen venues have been chosen across England to host matches for the men's tournament:

  • Old Trafford, Manchester
  • Emirates Stadium, London
  • Anfield, Liverpool
  • St. James' Park, Newcatle
  • Elland Road, Leeds
  • Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough
  • Bramall Lane, Sheffield
  • Ricoh Arena, Coventry
  • University of Bolton Stadium, Bolton
  • John Smith's Stadium, Huddersfield
  • KCOM Stadium, Hull
  • Emerald Headingley Stadium, Leeds
  • Totally Wicked Stadium, St Helens
  • Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster
  • Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington
  • Leigh Sports Village, Leigh
  • LNER Community Stadium, York
  • Kingston Park, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

The draw

Group A: England, Samoa, France, Greece

Group B: Australia, Fiji, Scotland, Italy

Group C: New Zealand, Lebanon, Jamaica

Group D: Tonga, PNG, Wales, Cook Islands

The Women's and Wheelchair draws were also conducted: